Welcome! Monday, May 23, 2022 | Login | Register
2021 Cleveland County Amateur Golf Championship
Jake Scruggs, 1st place winner of the Shelton Championship.

The 59th annual Cleveland County Amateur Golf Championship was played on Friday, August 20th at Deer Brook Golf Club, Saturday, August 21st at Kings Mountain Country Club and Sunday, August, 22nd at Cleveland Country Club.

The championship was started to feature the best amateur golfer in Cleveland County and began in 1963, with the inaugural winner being Dr. R. M. Bowles. Over the past 59 years the three day tournament has had 11 multiple year winners and it is played the third weekend in August each year.

There are four individual divisions featured; the Richard Shelton Championship, the Stan Sherman / Lefty Blanton Seniors, the Jake Kiser Super Seniors and division for Ladies.

The one team division is the Dan Allen Cup, with four players representing each club in the county.

The championship is open to amateur golfers of Cleveland County and any amateur golfer that is a member of one of the six courses in the County.

The 2021 Shelton Championship winner was Jake Scruggs, he was also the winner in 2019.

For more information concerning this year's tournament or future tournaments email tournament director, David Blanton at blantondavid1957@yahoo.com, subject line Golf.

Printer-friendly format

Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: